8 Year Old With Mood Disorder

Hi! My name is Rebecca and I am 8 years old. My mom took me to see her friend who gave me some hot chocolate and some pills to take. I am usually afraid of new things and I really don’t like school because there are too many people there. When I was 5 I had to go to the children’s hospital because I thought I was going to die all the time. They gave me medicine so that I could go back to my regular school but some of it made me feel really weird. I mean REALLY weird!!! I took medicine for a few years or so. But I always was feeling weird and my brain couldn’t work right. I tried to pay attention in school but I was scared and I wanted to not go there anymore. But my mom said I had to so I did.

So after I started getting help from another person I started to feel better. Then, I got to drink the hot chocolate. I like to put extra chocolate syrup in it to make it sweeter. My mom makes it for me every morning and I get to drink it on the way to school. I also have to take some pills. I don’t really like to do that but my mom told me that they would help my brain feel better and work better because I don’t take any of the medicine that made me feel weird anymore. I’ll tell you a secret – sometimes I wet the bed but I think that I will stop doing that soon!

Rebecca, age 8 – CO

Notes from Rebecca’s mom:
Rebecca was diagnosed with BiPolar disorder at the age of 5 after a hospitalization in the psychiatric ward of our children’s hospital. She had to be in day treatment until she stopped trying to injure herself. It was the hardest thing that I have ever had to do. She has been on Zoloft, Abilify, Clonidine, and a few other anti-depressants. Each time we thought they were working, she had to have an increase in her dosage. The side effects of all of the drugs left her with a “dozy” demeanor, 30 extra pounds of weight and a feeling that she was “broken.”

Finding these products has been wonderful. I see my little girl happy and able to cope with life as the sweet, sensitive child she is. I am looking forward to watching her progress!

Leave a comment